Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize was founded by Alfred Nobel, the guy who invented dynamite.

Just The Facts

  1. The award was established by the 1895 will and estate of Swedish chemist and inventor Alfred Nobel.
  2. There are actually 5 prizes: Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Peace, and Medicine.
  3. The Peace Prize is the only one not given out by Sweden. (It's given by Oslo Norway)
  4. Only 4 sitting US presidents have ever won the Peace Prize: Theodor Roosevelt in 1906, for his negotiating the end of the Russo-Japanese war, Woodrow Wilson in 1919, for founding the League of Nations, and Barack Obama in 2009, for not being George Bush.

Cracked on the Nobel Prize

Nobel thought that, since his invention killed so many people, he would give the money he made off of it back to the world. Mikhail Kalashnikov, the inventor of the AK-47, has yet to give back anything. This leads us at Cracked to believe that Kalashnikov just doesn't give a shit.

(It's true, not one shit)

(It's true, not one shit.)

According to Nobel's guidelines, the prize should be awarded "to the person, who during the preceding year shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses."

In 1888, a French news paper reported a premature obituary stating, "Dr. Alfred Nobel, who became rich by finding ways to kill more people faster than ever before, died yesterday." This allegedly prompted Nobel to fund the prize, because he wanted to be remembered as something more than just a mass murdering fucktard.

(Fuck, how am I going to get into Heaven now?)

Seven years later, Nobel signed his last will and testament, leaving 31,225,000 Swedish kronor, or about 250 million current US dollars. Since then, the prize has been given to many deserving candidates, such as Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and to some not-so-deserving candidates, such as Al Gore. Others have been passed up; Gandhi was nominated five times and never won the award. The award will not be given to groups larger than three people, and also will not be given posthumously. (That means after someone's death, for our southern readers) The posthumous rule was set up to keep Jesus from sweeping the award ceremony every year.